Catholic Church

Communities in


A parish is defined as “a certain community of the Christian faithful stably constituted in a particular church, whose pastoral care is entrusted to a pastor (parochus) as its proper pastor (pastor) under the authority of the diocesan bishop.” (Canon 515).

A parish is generally territorial and can include one or more churches. The parish embraces all Christ’s faithful of a given geographical area and only the diocesan bishop, after consultation with his Council of Priests, can establish, suppress or alter parishes.

In Banmaw Diocese there are fourteen Parishes which are zoned into two Vicariates under respective Vicars Forane, Rev. Fr. Michael Lazum Lung Wa and Fr. Luke Lahpai Hka Li. However, due to pastoral reasons, the care of Sinlum Parish has been placed under the administration of the Parish Priest of Momauk.

Banmaw Parish

Shwegu Parish

Mainghkat Parish

Nanhlaing Parish

Laiza Parish

Mansi Parish

Sinlum Parish

Prang Hkudung Parish

Panghkak Parish

Ting Sing Parish

Momauk Parish

NamLimPa Parish

Mai Ja Yang Parish

Zau Bung Parish

Map of the Diocese of Banmaw